Pause before you Pounce

Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits. Proverbs 18:21 (ESV)

How are you using your words?  I mean really? Have you been building up those around you or pointing out their blemishes? There is something awful about the power of the tongue.

My husband and I got into a spat a few weeks ago. After being home all day with a feisty one-year-old and a sassy eight-year-old, you begin to plead for some mommy time. Finally, he was home and not soon after, I was out the door, off to the movies, to enjoy some alone time.

A few hours pass, and I come home ready for some great sleep. (The movie was really awesome btw.) I stopped in the kitchen to get myself a glass of water and you would not believe what I saw. I mean it was just sitting there, staring at me. My heart began pounding, my arms were sweaty and it felt like my head was about to explode. A SINK FULL OF DISHES. How could this be? How? I leave for a few hours and not one person thought of cleaning the house? My husband was home. My oldest was home. Nobody decided to clean.

Oh, boy was I mad! Angry. Infuriated.

My husband was still in the back room reading. Barging through the door, without him having to even turn around, my words spewed out! After two whole minutes of me just talking, he just sat there, listening to my harsh comments and awful criticism. Taking it all in. Looking just as hurt as the words that came from my lips.

No human being can tame the tongue. It is restless evil, full of deadly poison. James 3:8 (NIV)

Often times, I’ve said a lot of things that have hurt plenty of friendships, relationships, even jobs over the years. This is one of my many blemishes that God is working with me on. Still. My mouth. How I choose to use my words. Sometimes I just talk too much. Or, I may have repeated stuff that I shouldn’t have. More often than not, the words were right, but the way they were said was completely wrong.

Have you ever been there before?

So, how do we stop misusing our mouth?

It’s a heart check. Words begin in our hearts before they even make their way up to our lips and to the ears of others. It’s time to take care of the heart and ask the Holy Spirit to give us wisdom on the right words to say or whether we should just stay silent altogether.

A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings up evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the hearts is full of. Luke 6:45 (NIV)

From how you talk to your spouse, to your kids, a neighbor, to even on social media, your tongue has power. So throughout your day, take the time to hit the pause button and allow the Holy Spirit to lead you.

It’s because we are saved, that our words are supposed to reflect the presence of Jesus in our lives.

Today, choose to lace your words with grace. 

Be sure to pause before you pounce.

She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue. Proverbs 31:26


Lord, I ask that you please guide my tongue. Holy Spirit please help me to control and tame my tongue. I pray for wisdom when I speak and I pray that what I say benefits others. Help me to use my words to encourage, uplift, and wisely advise others. I pray that you would help me in this area in Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

